Julian Moosmann - Winner of the 2014 APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

  • Date: 2014

Julian Moosmann,PhD student at ANKA

Julian Moosmann is Named Franklin Award Recipient for the Development of Techniques for In vivo Analysis of Embryonic Development

Franklin Award
Rosalind Franklin Plaque 

Julian Moosmann, Ph.D. student at ANKA, the Synchrotron Radiation Facility at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), is the winner of the 2014 APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award.
Julian has used synchrotron radiation at the APS to develop techniques for 4D (time-resolved) imaging for the in vivo analysis of embryonic development, revealing biological processes that could not previously be observed.

The biannual Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award was established in 2004 to recognize an important scientific or technical achievement by a young investigator (senior graduate student or within two years of his or her Ph.D. degree). Julian has been invited to present his results at the upcoming APS Users Meeting in May where he will receive the award in person.

On behalf of the whole team the directors at ANKA congratulate Julian on this great success and wish him further exciting career achievements!

J. Moosmann, A. Ershov, V. Altapova, T. Baumbach, M. S. Prasad, C. LaBonne, X. Xiao, J. Kashef, and R. Hofmann, “X-ray phase-contrast in vivo mictotomography probes new aspects of Xenopus gastrulation“, Nature, 497, 374-377, 2013